Let’s Work Together

Image Alt

About Us

Executive Committee, Las Vegas 2024. Back row: Karen Lyp, Fatima Aragao, Daniel Birchall, Kei Yamada. Front row: Tarek Yousry, Wan-Yuo Guo, Pia Sundgren.

Executive Committee

Wan-Yuo Guo, MD, PhD


Daniel Birchall, MD MBA

Vice President / President Elect

Pia Maly Sundgren MD, PhD

Secretery General

Deborah Shatzes, MD


Mauricio Castillo, MD, FACR

President SNR XXII

E. Turgut Tali, MD

Immediate Past President

Tarek Yousry, MD

President SNR XXIII

Members At Large

Maria de Fatima Viana Vasco Aragao, MD, PhD

Tracy Kilborn, MBChB, FRCR

Paul Parizel, MD, PhD

WFNRS Administrative Management

Karen Lyp, Director of Administration
80 Jories Blvd., Ste. 300
Oak Brook, IL 60523


History of WFNRS

The World Federation of Neuroradiological Societies was established in 1994 by Derek Harwood Nash to promote development of Neuroradiology across the world. Professor Nash combined careers in Africa and North America, and had an inspirational view of international collaborations. It has supported the Symposium Neuroradiologicum over many years, and has had many inspirational leaders over this time.


WFNRS Membership

Our supra-national and national partner societies:

  • American Society of Neuroradiology [ASNR]
  • Asian-Oceanic Society of Neuroradiology and Neck and Head Imaging [AOSNHNR]
  • European Society of Neuroradiology [ESNR]
  • Sociedad Ibero Latino Americana de Neuroradiologia [SILAN]
  • Africa: Egypt, Ethiopia, South Africa
  • Asia and Oceania: Australia and New Zealand, India, Japan, Korea, Pakistan, Taiwan
  • Europe: Austria, Britain, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine
  • Pan-Arab: Qatar, United Arab Emirates
  • North America: American Society of Head and Neck Radiology, American Society of Paediatric Neuroradiology. American Society of Spine Radiology, Canada
  • South America: Argentina, Brazil